I am happy. I am sad.

Namaste,

Now, I am happy after all these boring holidays, did something productive(posting this) besides learning. You might think it’s insane, learning during holidays. But, thank god I am not studying. I am following some Java tutorials on YouTube and trying to understand my first technical book Head First Java. A hell of a book that. Basically I don’t like reading books, fact is that I completed reading How I Braved Anu Aunty and Co-Founded A Million Dollar Company in two days in my second sem and that is my first book. The main reason I don’t like books is the way they appear, those paras, those lines with same font and size, which eventually makes  me scare and to throw it away.

Head First JAVA

Coming to this book, Head First Java, I didn’t throw it away because it’s a soft copy on my laptop. I didn’t delete it because I
love that book. A ‘Brain-Friendly Guide’, there’s this phrase on cover page and after reading the book (not whole book, though) I realised that the author really mean it. I completed reading 200 pages of 700 in two days(surprisingly, I understood) and realised that it’s really Brain-Friendly. All Happies. Hope my Java journey takes me further. Now, sad part is, there is something big to do in my mind but facing difficulties to practically apply it(Yeah, I know something big always comes with a lot of difficulties). I got selected for two roadtests (reviewing new electronic products, mostly development boards, home automation systems) in which I am about to receive A raspberry-pi with home automation modules(fun part is these modules are self-powered) and A launch pad from TI, MSP430 with bluetooth modules. The real sad part living in India(no hard feelings), it takes a long time to ship these kits to India. All of those who got selected in roadtests have received their kits(not from India). There’s a nice thing to do with those self-powered modules(sensors). But before knowing what can we do with those sensors, you all should know a little story.

 


 

One fine Sunday morning, in my room…

I had my break-fast(not so surprise, I made a lot of good friends who just bang my door(who I didn’t know at the time of my last post :p ) until I open it) and about to sleep when I realised it’s Sunday(again) and we have access to internet, Whoaaa. I opened my laptop(dusty as usual), deleted last 4 episodes of GoT season 3 on my desktop which I have completed watching last night and started downloading episodes of The Bigbang Theory. I opened FB and then some one is there at my door for my help. Some guy, some random doubt(non-technical, it’s obvious) and we are discussing in his room, a few rooms beside my room. I didn’t lock(just closed) my room and I noticed something fishy after returning to my room. Someone updated my FB status, I deleted it, later I got to know he is one of my friends. He is unharmed in the name of Peace :p .     


I didn’t like this and I don’t want this to happen next time when I leave my room unlocked. My idea is to attach an IR-sensor near the door which wirelessly connected to an arduino board which again connected to laptop. A small Java or Python code can make my Uno board a master(without which, is a slave) to control laptop. And the juicy part is if someone opened the door IR detects and sends signal to arduino which tells my laptop to sleep. I made it, it worked. Hurray. The thing is there should be a power source connected to Sensor. But these modules which I should receive, via roadtest, by now are self-powered. These are built by En-Ocean, mostly every product is self-powered this way or that. Some are powered using solar energy(most of us know), some on mechanical work(AC Generator). There is this switch, self-powered using energy from mechanical work done when we press it, eventually producing electricity which is used  to send a wireless signal to receiver(I love this). Hope I would receive these kits soon and be blogging about those all little projects.

Happy Holidays. Sad Holidays. It’s all quantum in nature after all. There is a webinar I should attend.

Bye for now.

Live long & prosper,

– S

 

Reply and/or Suggestions? Right here!

